Buckwheat & Almond flour Crêpes

Crepes, Swedish ones with jam and whipped cream was a favorite of mine as a child and something that I had given up hope of getting to eat again after I started respecting my allergies and sensitivity to certain foods. After getting some tips on what you can use instead of flour to achieve thin crepes that holds together without gluten, I started experimenting and came up with this recipe with buckwheat flour and almond flour.

The pancakes are gluten, grain, milk and sugar-free and just as good if not better than regular crepes! I’ve let myself and the recipe be reviewed by a family with two children and they were all equally satisfied. Perhaps the kids were even the most happy, which I’m both surprised at and quite pleased with, just because it feels good to be able to offer children something that is as tasty as it is healthy. Crepes makes you happy!

Recipe

6 eggs
3 cups coconut water or any milk: almond, soy or oat
1.5 cups buckwheat flour
1.5 cups almond flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 tsp stevia or 1 tbsp honey

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, stevia and eggs. Add the milk and stir until smooth.

Heat a frying pan and fry in butter or coconut oil on low – medium heat. Pour the batter into the center of the pan. Tilt the pan with a circular motion so that the batter spreads evenly across the pan surface.

Fry for about 2 minutes, until the bottom is light. Turn.

Serve as you normally do. I usually serve with fresh berries instead of jam (which you can sweeten with stevia or agave if you like) and whipped coconut cream. This time I flavored the coconut cream with stevia, vanilla powder and orange zest which works well together with raspberries.

