Flapjacks (gluten-free, dairy-free & sugar-free)

bild-4Flapjacks are one of the easiest things to bake. Original recipes contain four main ingredients: oatmeal, butter, sugar and golden syrup, but this recipe only uses honey as sweetening. In England they’re called Flapjacks but in the U.S. and other countries they are sometimes called granola bars.

This version using honey as sweetening are filling and relatively “healthy” with an OK Glycemic index, they are gluten-free, dairy-free and egg free which makes them good for people with allergies. Oats in itself does not contain gluten but not all oats are gluten free due to industrial processes that contaminate the oats with gluten from other grains (see conversation in comments). If you are highly sensitive, use a gluten-free oat-brand.

 bild-3Recipe (12-15 flapjacks)

bildThis will make a fairly small batch, it is possible to double the recipe.

  • 100 g Ghee, coconut oil or butter
  • 100 g Honey
  • 150g oats
  • 50 g shredded coconut (can be replaced with oats or chopped nuts)
  • 50 g raisins (optional)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  1. Preheat the oven to 175 ° C.
  2. Grease a small baking dish or cover the inside of the dish with baking paper.
  3. Heat the ghee or coconut oil and honey in a large saucepan and stir well. Bring it to a boil then remove the pot from the heat.
  4. Mix the oats, coconut, cinnamon and raisins in a bowl separately.
  5. Add the oat mix to the pot and stir till it’s all well mixed. The mix will be very crumbly in texture.bild-1
  6. Pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish and distribute it evenly
  7. Use the back of a spoon to press the mixt evenly into the mold, push pretty hard and try to give it a relatively smooth surface.
  8. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes or until the oats are golden brown.
  9. Remove the mold from the oven and let it cool completely in in the baking dish.
  10. Once the flapjack is cooled down lift it out onto a cutting board and cut into squares.bild-2
Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Flapjacks (gluten-free, dairy-free & sugar-free)

  1. Hi there. I just wanted to make you aware that standard oats are not gluten free – you need to specify gluten free oats which have been modified. I know this cause my mum is coeliac.

    Thanks!

  2. Hi Amy, you are right: not all oats are gluten free. As far as I have understood this is due to industrial processes or farming methods that ‘contaminate’ most oats with gluten from other grains, rather than because they need to be modified. The wikipedia page is quite helpful here. A real shame, though whatever the reason…

  3. Honey is NOT toxic when heated, it is a simple sugar.
    The only toxicity from honey can occur when the hive has been feeding on plants toxic to humans and babies are sometimes susceptible to botulism carried in the honey, this is also unusual but is recommended to avoid honey for children under 3 years (if i remember correctly)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s